The Sacraments

The sacraments are given to the Church by Jesus Christ himself. Through them we are given grace or a share in the Divine Life. The sacraments are celebrated in visible ways through ritual action and known as liturgical ceremony. If properly disposed, those who receive and celebrate the sacraments bear good fruit in holiness and are strengthed to do the will of God in charity and giving witness to the Good News of Jesus.

There are seven sacraments. The first three are known as the Sacraments of Initiation: Baptism, Eucharist and Confirmation. There are two other sacraments known as Sacraments of Healing: Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick. The final two sacraments are referred to as Sacraments at the Service of Communion: Marriage and Holy Orders.