The Sacraments  

The sacraments are given to the Church by Jesus Christ himself. Through them we are given grace or a share in the Divine Life. The sacraments are celebrated in visible ways through ritual action and known as liturgical ceremony. If properly disposed those who receive and celebrate the sacraments bear good fruit in holiness and are strengthen to do the will of God in charity and giving witness to the Good News of Jesus Christ.

There are seven sacraments. The first three sacraments are known as the Sacraments of Initiation: Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist. There are two other sacraments known as the Sacraments of Healing: Reconciliation and the Anointing of the Sick.

The final two sacraments are referred to as Sacraments at the Service of Communion: Marriage and Holy Orders